India A vs Pakistan A Thriller Marred by Controversial Catch Ruling
Controversial Catch Overturned in India A vs Pakistan A Clash

A high-voltage clash between India A and Pakistan A in the ACC Rising Stars Asia Cup 2025 delivered edge-of-the-seat drama on November 16 in Doha, Qatar, but it was a controversial umpiring decision that became the central talking point, leaving players and fans in a state of disbelief.

The Pivotal Moment of Controversy

The match, where Pakistan A was chasing a modest target of 136 set by India A, seemed to be tilting in Pakistan's favor. The situation intensified when their in-form batsman, Maaz Sadaqat, who had recently scored an unbeaten 96 against Oman, lofted a powerful shot towards the long-on boundary off the bowling of spinner Suyash Sharma.

Indian fielder Nehal Wadhera timed his jump to perfection, plucking the ball from the air just inches from the rope. As his momentum carried him over the boundary line, he displayed incredible presence of mind by throwing the ball back into the field of play before landing. Teammate Naman Dhir completed the spectacular effort with a forward dive, grabbing the ball to what appeared to be a clean and legal relay catch.

The on-field umpires agreed, raising their finger to signal Sadaqat out. The batter himself accepted the decision and began his walk back to the pavilion. Celebrations erupted among the Indian players, who were desperately seeking a breakthrough.

The Third Umpire's Game-Changing Verdict

Following standard protocol for such close calls, the decision was sent upstairs to the third umpire for a boundary review. After examining multiple camera angles for several minutes, the third umpire stunned everyone by overturning the on-field call and declaring Maaz Sadaqat not out.

The reversal is believed to be one of the first on-field applications of a newly amended law by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC). According to an ICC note circulated to member boards, the amendment provides a new wording that permits a fielder to push the ball back from inside the boundary, step outside, and then dive back in to complete the catch.

However, the crucial part of the law states: "Our solution has been to limit any fielder who has gone outside the boundary to touching the ball while airborne only once, and then, having done so, to be wholly grounded within the boundary for the rest of the duration of that delivery."

This amendment explicitly covers relay catches. It dictates that if the first fielder is still outside the boundary when the second fielder completes the catch, the catch is deemed invalid, and a boundary is awarded. In this instance, since Nehal Wadhera had not returned inside the field of play when Naman Dhir took the catch, the third umpire applied the updated law correctly, resulting in a dot ball instead of a wicket.

On-Field Drama and Aftermath

The decision sparked immediate outrage and confusion on the field. The Indian players, led by a furious Wadhera and Dhir, passionately argued their case, convinced they had executed a fair dismissal. The entire Indian team gathered around the umpires, seeking an explanation that never provided full clarity or satisfaction.

Capitalizing on the massive lifeline, Maaz Sadaqat returned to the crease and continued his innings, steering Pakistan A closer to a victory that was now shrouded in controversy, turning a classic cricket contest into a debate about the nuances of the game's laws.